Transformations

Hitting my 20s last month was a bit of a wake up call, to say the least. No longer hiding under the excuse of “teenager” and more accountable to the actions of the “adult” that I have become.
The idea of growing up never scared me too much because I think I was excited to control more aspects of my life – I could go to IKEA and decorate my own home, travel across the globe and spend more time doing the things that make me happy. But it wasn’t until the big 2-0 that I realised that growing up doesn’t mean that you can control everything in your life and in fact, I have become more aware of the things I can’t control – which is perfect for the anxious, obsessive person that I am.
Luckily, I have some fantastic role models in my life me who give me valuable life advice. And upon many of the lessons that I have learned from them (stay tuned), I’ve repeatedly been told that your 20s are when you really grow – figure out who you are. And I don’t really know why, maybe I’ve been reading too many fitness blogs, but it reminds me of those transformation photos where there are two photos side by side, one from the past where are person is looking sad and unwell, and the other photo where the person is looking happier than ever.

What I am trying to say is that this blog, is MY transformation photo. A full blow-by-blow description of all the struggles of living out of home for the first time, my life as a female engineering student and my transition to industry, my passion for health and fitness and my experience of committing to a long-term relationship at a young-ish age. At the end of it all, I think my goal is to be happy, and I’m hoping this blog will record my transformation to happy.

I don’t know what or where I want to be in the next 5 – 10 years but I do know that I would like to be in love. Enter, Chris (Sweetheart #2). He is one of my greatest sources of happiness and one of the smartest people I know and I continue to learn so much from him every day. And we’re hoping to take this transformation journey together.

Hence the name of this blog – the Sweetheart 20s.
Love, Annette
One thought on “Transformations

Leave a Reply

